Peer Mentors

2021 Peer Mentors

Josie Anderson jhanderson2@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Japanese & International Studies major (BA, L&S)
Olivia Adelman oadelman@wisc.edu Senior She/her/hers Asian Languages & Cultures – East Asian Studies major, Chinese & International Studies major (BA, L&S)
Angela Glowacki aglowacki2@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Chinese major and Community & Nonprofit Leadership (BS, SOHE)
Amanda Goldstein aigoldstein@wisc.edu Senior She/her/hers Education Studies major (BS, SoEd), Global Health certificate, Chinese Professional Communications certificate, L&S honors program
Erika Kay-Tsumagari kaytsumagari@wisc.edu Sophomore She/her/hers Biochemistry/Pre PharmTox and Japanese major (BS, L&S)
Emma Kempf ekempf2@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Chinese major, International Studies major, Environmental Studies certificate (BA, L&S)
Thekla Ketcher ketcher@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Chinese major, Psychology major, Honors in the Liberal Arts, Digital Studies certificate (BA, L&S)
Kelly Luu tnluu@wisc.edu Senior She/her/hers Asian Languages and Cultures, Nutritional Sciences, Certificates in Chinese Professional Communications and Global health, (BS, CALS)
Sara Montez smontez@wisc.edu Senior She/her/hers Asian Languages & Cultures – East Asian Studies major, Political Science major (BA, L&S)
Ethan Rupp erupp@wisc.edu Senior He/him/his Finance and Chinese Professional Communication certificate (BBA, BUS)
Reena Samuel rksamuel@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Economics major & Chinese Professional Communications certificate (BA, L&S)
Ellie Scheirey scheirey@wisc.edu Junior She/her/hers Economics major, and Certificate in Chinese Professional Communication, and Sports Communication Certificate (BA, L&S)
Shrey Shah shah54@wisc.edu Junior He/him/his Computer Science major, and Japanese Professional Communication certificate (BS, L&S)
Ariana Zins azins@wisc.edu Sophomore She/her/hers Chinese major & International Studies major: Global Security Emphasis (BA, L&S)

Peer Mentor Committees

Website Committee: Amanda Goldstein, Thekla Ketcher, Kelly Luu, Shrey Shah

Social Media Committee: Josie Anderson, Angela Glowacki, Amanda Goldstein, Erika Kay-Tsumagari, Emma Kempf, Ethan Rupp, Ellie Scheirey, Ariana Zins

Peer Mentor Application

The Undergraduate program in the Department of Asian Languages & Cultures is looking for current Asian Languages & Cultures, Chinese, and Japanese majors and certificate students to volunteer to serve as Peer Mentors and serve on the ALC Undergraduate Council. Peer Mentors should already be declared and have taken multiple courses towards their major.

Application deadline April 19, 2021

Minimum Requirements:

  • Freshman and Sophomores are welcome to join the council, preference for Juniors and Seniors to serve in the capacity of Peer Mentors.
  • Interest in building community in the department, across regional and linguistic interests.
  • Declared in an ALC program (ALC, Chinese, or Japanese certificate or major)
  • Able to serve as a Peer Mentor for one academic year (i.e. graduating no earlier than May 2022)

Peer Mentors must be willing to:

  • Attend UG council meetings twice a month.
  • Meet (or communicate by email) with prospective high school and/or transfer students.
  • Answer emails from current/prospective students in a professional and timely manner.

Benefits to being a Peer Mentor are:

  • Enhancing your resume and reference list.
  • Networking and collaborating with fellow members of the ALC department.
  • Developing and/or improving your communication and leadership skills.

If you are interested, please apply by Application deadline April 19, 2021.

Questions? Please contact Rachel Weiss at rweiss@wisc.edu