Department Scholarships

Fall Awards

ALC Community Building Scholarship

The Department of Asian Languages & Cultures will award a deserving student at the sophomore or junior level an annual award each fall term. The award will be given to a student who represents the strength of our community, and who embodies our shared goals to create an environment that is welcoming to all students. We encourage underrepresented minority and first-generation college students to apply! Applicants must be declared in an ALC program (major or certificate), with a minimum GPA of 2.5 and above.

Fall 2022 deadline is 7 October 2022, application in WiSH

Cameron G. Keith Memorial Scholarship

This award is given annually to two undergraduate students studying Japanese. This award is announced during the fall semester, and eligible students may apply. The criteria are: Japanese major, junior or senior standing, cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above, currently taking Japanese, and plan to go into a Japanese related profession.

Cameron G. Keith was an East Asian Studies and Economics studies major at UW-Madison who studied abroad in Japan, and later in Nepal. In his memory, the Keith family established these funds in memory of his interest in the region. Application in WiSH.

  • 2021-22 Declan Dally and Eve Runquist
  • 2020-21 Josie Anderson and Choua Thao
  • 2019-20 Xinqi Cao and Jiahang He
  • 2018-19 Zach Rattunde and Alexis Marie Shoushounova
  • 2017-18 Yusen Men and Colton Switalski
  • 2016-17 Yixuan Cheng and Daniel Nachreiner
  • 2015-16 Kanna Izushi-Ciolkosz and Josh Nys
  • 2014-15 Benjamin Garton and Madison Mears
  • 2012-13 Matthew Reagan and Helen Schwartz

Chou Kuo-p’ing Book Award

Several awards will be given each year to undergraduate students who are studying and will continue to study Chinese during the following semester. This award is made possible through a donation by Professor Emerita Chou Kuo-p’ing, the founder of the Chinese program here at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Professor Chou, a dedicated teacher, devoted her entire career to teaching, promoting and developing Chinese studies in Wisconsin.

Professor Chou was very active during her teaching career, and often helped financially disadvantaged students, especially those who excelled in their academic careers despite economic difficulties. Although this award is based mainly on the applicant’s academic performance, special consideration is given to those who are financially disadvantaged in order to carry on this tradition. Application in WiSH.

  • 2021-22 Sam Baker and Angela Glowacki
  • 2020-21 Loreli Zhang and Christy Zheng
  • 2019-20 Genevive Jacobs, Thekla Ketcher, Erin Naumann, Kristine Nguyen
  • 2017-18 Farhat Bhuiyan, Daniel Coleman, Tyler Ruzicka
  • 2016-17 Farhat Bhuiyan, Markayle Schears

Ellen and William E. Fisher Scholarship

Ellen and William E. Fisher have provided funding for an annual scholarship to be awarded to an undergraduate student at the UW-Madison who is studying the Chinese language. Mr. Fisher stipulated that the award must be made in the Fall semester, so that the recipient can use it in the Spring semester. According to the terms of the gift agreement, the award is based on merit, therefore there is no application. The Chinese faculty will make a determination based on students progressing in the program.

  • 2021-22 Vivienne Wooldridge
  • 2020-21 Olivia Adelman
  • 2019-20 Kristine Nguyen
  • 2018-19 Madeline Chaplin
  • 2017-18 Tyler Ruzicka
  • 2016-17 Allison Sharpless

Spring Awards

Gwang-Tsai Chen Award

Professor Sabina Knight established this scholarship in honor of Gwang-Tsai (Arthur) Chen, Emeritus Professor of East Asian Languages and Literature at UW-Madison. This scholarship recognizes a rising undergraduate Chinese major. Student must be a non-native speaker (someone who is not only him- or herself not a native speaker, but someone who did not grow up in the home of native-speaker parents)you’re your freshman or sophomore year in college, and a GPA of 3.0 or above. Application in WiSH opens 3/28/22, deadline 4/4/22.

  • 2021-22 Aiden Loya
  • 2020-21 Nils Peterson
  • 2019-20 Emma Kempf
  • 2018-19 Erin Naumann

Lawrence Louey Merit Scholarship

The Lawrence Louey Merit Scholarship is an annual competition recognizing an undergraduate Chinese major in the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures. Eligibility: You must be a graduating senior with a GPA above 3.0 and have taken at least three years of Chinese. An application is required for consideration, including a brief career plan, as well as a research paper from one of your courses taken for the Chinese major. Application in WiSH opens on 3/28/22, deadline 4/4/22.

  • 2021-22 Nils Peterson
  • 2020-21 Frank Breu
  • 2019-20 Matt Van Gilder
  • 2018-19 David Duszynski
  • 2017-18 Conley Michael Potter
  • 2016-17 Nathan Heinrich

Chinese Language and Culture Club (CLACC) Ambassador Award

The CLACC Ambassador Award recognizes one student who grew up speaking Mandarin Chinese for their engagement and passion in sharing Chinese language and culture with campus. Application in WiSH opens on 3/28/22, deadline 4/4/22.

  • 2021-22 Runkai Tao
  • 2020-21 Keran Han
  • 2019-20 Echo (Zhiqin) Xu

Chinese Language Learners Bridge Fund

Chinese Major Alumni Jarrett Wiesolek (Class of 2011) and Ali Dibble (Class of 2012) launched the Bridge fund in 2016. CLLBF is designed to award scholarships to students who are passionate about learning Chinese and building bridges between UW-Madison and China. Application in WiSH opens on 3/28/22, deadline 4/4/22.

  • 2021-22 Angela Glowacki
  • 2020-21 Jae Yong Lee
  • 2019-20 Lili Sarajian