Department of Asian Languages and Cultures

College of Letters & Science

Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Research Interests

   
Avendano-Garro, Kenia
Japanese Literature
keniaave@yahoo.com

Modern Japanese literature, Japanese Identity, Japanese Pop Culture

Balivet, Aaron
Chinese Literature
balivet@wisc.edu

Animal symbolism and imagery, Ming/Qing zhiguai (strange tales), Chinese drama, Sichuan dialect

Chang, Chun-Ting
Chinese Literature
cchang32@wisc.edu

Women literature, and poetry

Chen, Yu-Hsing (Jasmine)
Transasian Studies
Chen427@wisc.edu

Studies traditional Chinese/ Taiwanese theater in a transnational Sinophone context.  Master’s thesis explores a unique performance style of 20th century Taiwanese opera that incorporated elements of traditional Japanese and Chinese opera.  Her research interests include intercultural theatre and performance, gender, modernity, nostalgia, popular culture, and media studies. She is currently exploring questions of Chinese/ Taiwanese opera travel across genres and regional, national, and aesthetic boundaries.

Chiu, Yu-lin
Chinese Literature
ychiu3@wisc.edu 

 

Cowe-Spigai, Kereth
Japanese Literature
 
Dong, Huimin
Chinese Linguistics

 

Foley, Alicia
Japanese Literature

 

Gu, Yang
Chinese Literature
ygu33@wisc.edu

Main focus on Classical Chinese drama as literature and as a performing art, the relationship between drama text and performance, theatre/theatrical images reflected through different medias.  Additional interest in the drama criticism of the Ming-Qing period, which unfolds literati’s connoisseurship of drama and its connections to society.

He, Ping
Chinese Thought

 

Homma, Kunihiko
Japanese Linguistics
khomma@wisc.edu

Language acquistion and pedagogy

Imamura Dabney, Akiko
Japanese Linguistics
imamuradabne@wisc.edu

Conversation analysis (both ordinary and institutional), Multilingual interaction, Japanese pedagogy

Ji, Xiaojuan
Chinese Linguistics
jin1@wisc.edu
 
Ji, Wenting
Chinese Literature
 
Jun, Hae Ree
Japanese Linguistics
 
Kobzeva, Maria
Chinese Literature

 

Llanos de la Guadia, Miguel
Chinese Thought
 
Li, Cheng
Trans-Asian Studies
cli369@wisc.edu

His primary research focuses on ecocriticism and environmental humanities, especially on environmentalism of the poor in China, and he has secondary interests in subaltern studies, and migration studies.  He is currently working on Chinese ecocinema and embarks on Japanese environmental literature.  His articles appear on Ecoambiguity, Community, and Development, and ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment.

Liu, Lu
Trans-Asia
xliu83@wisc.edu

Her graduate project examines various forms of modernism (literature, arts and architectures) and how modernism is transnationally traveling and contextually shaped in Europe, Japan and China. She is particularly drawn to relations of war and modernism and also interested in environmental studies, urban studies and studies of everyday life.

Liu, Yilin
Chinese Thought

 

Liu, Ziyun
Chinese Thought
 
Lu, Lu
Chinese Linguistics
llu29@wisc.edu

relationship between music and language, phonology-syntax interface and second language acquisition

Lu, Xiang
Chinese Linguistics

 

Luo, Yangtian
Chinese Linguistics
luo58@wisc.edu
Second language acquisition, Chinese languages and linguistics,Pedagogy,Teaching Chinese as a second language.
Miller, Genesie
Japanese Literature
gtmiller2@wisc.edu

Edo period (1600-1868ish) haikai, scatological/erotic poetry, illustrated books, visual-verbal culture, humor, meme theory, gender studies, queer theory. Currently I am interested in erotic and scatological comic poetry composed by women from this time period.

Mitani, Koyuki
Japanese Linguistics
 
 
Na, Yuli
Chinese Thought
 
Naparstek, Michael
Chinese Thought
naparstek@wisc.edu
Daoist ritual, specifically as it pertains to image consecration and exorcistic deities
Nishi, Hironori
Japanese Linguistics
nishi@wisc.edu
Discourse analysis, pragmatics, second language acquisition, katakana loanwords in Japanese
Noel, Thomas
Chinese Literature
tdnoel@wisc.edu
 medieval poetics, early historiography, translation
Qian, Youyong
Chinese Linguistics
 
Reich, Aaron
Chinese Thought
Chinese religions and religious art, particularly the visual culture of Daoism and the iconography of its deities; ritual traditions of China and Taiwan and the interplay between performance and pictorial art; and the history and interpretation of Chinese landscape painting.
Shen, Yiwen
Chinese Literature
yshen6@wisc.edu

Tang chuanqi tales, Six Dynasties zhiguai, and Ming-Qing vernacular novels, with a special focus on supernatural presences and Sino-Japanese comparison

Shibata, Yumiko
Japanese Linguistics
yshibata@wisc.edu
Sound symbolic words (i.e. onomatopoeia, ideophones, and mimetics) in conversation, conversation analysis, and multimodality
Shin, Seungyop
Japanese Korean
 
Suzuki, Miho
Japanese Linguistics
msuzuki5@wisc.edu
Japanese language and pedagogy
Toole, Michael
Japanese Literature
mjtoole@wisc.edu
Early modern Japanese literature and visual culture, theories of embodiment, queer theory, and feminist theory.
Wada, Risa
Japanese Linguistics
rwada@wisc.edu
Pragmatics and pedagogy
Wang, Ji
Chinese Literature
sdwangji@gmail.com
Classical Chinese Literature, memory in literature, Chinese thought.
Wang, Rui
Chinese Linguistics
rwang227@wisc.edu
Phonology
Wang, Tianlin
Chinese Linguistics
 
Wen, Laura Jo-Han
Transasian Studies
wen7@wisc.edu

Colonialism and Modernity, Media Archaeology, Visual Culture, Cold War Culture, Sinophone Studies, Taiwan Studies

Wu, Chen
Chinese Literature
 
Wu, Yanwen
Chinese Linguistics
ywu325@wisc.edu
 
Xu, Jun
Japanese Linguistics
jxu26@wisc.edu
Discourse analysis, pragmatics, second language acquisition, Japanese pedagogy.
Xue, Yinyin
Transasian Studies
xue27@wisc.edu
Modern Chinese literature.
Yamamoto, Tsumugi
Japanese Linguistics
 
Yan, Fang
Chinese Linguistics
fyan7@wisc.edu
Chinese phonology and phonetics, more specifically on Chinese intonation.
Yan, Han
Chinese Linguistics
hyan28@wisc.edu
Phonology, phonetics, and syntax
Yan, Hong
Chinese Linguistics
hyan27@wisc.edu
Phonology and Morphology interface; Reduplication; Endangered Languages; Song Documentation.
Yang, Nuoyi
Chinese Linguistics
nyang32@wisc.edu
Phonology and phonetics
You, Shuxiang
Chinese Linguistics
syou4@wisc.edu
His current research focuses on phonology-syntax interface and Chinese dialects especially Northern Min dialects. My research interests also include, but are not limited to, syntax, phonology, Chinese historical linguistics, and teaching Chinese as a second language
Yuchi, Na
Chinese Linguistics
 
Zou, Xin
Chinese Literature
 
Zuern, Tobias
Chinese Thought
tzurn@wisc.edu

conceptualizations of gender, body, cosmos, and governmentality in early China; imagery and metaphorology; intertextuality, texts as objects, image/text-relationships; cosmicization in early Chinese visual and textual arts; early Chinese aesthetics; reception history of theZhuangzi